Burton European Open 2008

One of the most respected and famouse event in Europe, the Swatch TTR 6Star Burton European Open, is taking plance in Laax.


Laax, Switzerland: Things are getting intense on the Swatch TTR World Snowboard Tour. The Burton European Open, hitting Laax Switzerland from January 11th to 18th 2008, is the fourth SIX(6)STAR stop on the Tour, but is the first event this season to host both men and women riders. The race for Tour leader is getting oh so close as the Top Swatch TTR Riders compete to earn another highly sought-after 1000 TTR Ranking Points.

Last weekend the Tour saw Andy Finch (USA) move into World No. 1 after a killer Halfpipe run, and going huge off the Quarterpipe at the SIX(6)STAR O’Neill Evolution. The Burton European Open 08 however, mixes things up with slopestyle and halfpipe formats, requiring riders, like Andy Finch, to perform well off both transitions and straight airs if they wish to significantly move up and hold a high position in the Rankings; a quintessential element to the Swatch TTR World Tour.

Andy must finish Top 5 in the Slopestyle to maintain his Tour lead and hold off current World No. 3 Kevin Pearce (USA), who could move into TTR World No 1 with a podium result and Finch finishing outside the Top 10. Risto Mattila (FIN), who’s had three straight 2nd place finishes since the Nissan X-Trail Jam, could also take the Tour lead with a win in the Slopestyle and Finch finishing outside the Top 15. Mattila, Pearce and Chas Guldemond (USA) could all move into World No
2 after the Slopestyle, setting them up for a Halfpipe run that could push them into World No. 1. Of course, we can’t ignore 06/07 Tour Champion Shaun White (USA), competing in his first TTR event this season. Shaun could very well win both the slopestyle and halfpipe, which would launch him into the Top 40 in the TTR Rankings.

In the Women’s Tour, the competition is heating up as the current Swatch TTR Top 3, Kelly Clark (USA), Jenny Jones (GBR), and Jamie Anderson (USA) battle it out in the Slopestyle for World No. 1. Claudia Fliri (AUT) and 06/07 Tour Champion Torah Bright (AUS) will also compete for World No 4, rounding out the Women’s TTR Top 5
Ranking spots. 05/06 Tour champion, and recent Title winner of the SIX (6)STAR Roxy Chicken Jam in Kaprun, Cheryl Maas (NED) could jump into the TTR Top 10 with a win in the Slopestyle.

The slopestyle results set the suspenseful tone for the climactic Halfpipe competition at the Swatch TTR SIX(6)STAR Burton European Open 08, with another 1000 Ranking Points available. Be sure to check out the TTR news and video player for the latest content and coverage as the world’s most progressive men and women snowboarders converge in Laax, Switzerland for that World No 1 spot and a shot at the Burton European Open Title.

Burton European Open 08 Invited Riders Men
(SS – Slopestyle, HP – Halfpipe)

Antti Autti (FIN) Flow – SS/HP
Danny Davis (USA) Burton – SS/HP
Henning Marthinsen (NOR) Sims – SS/HP
Iouri Podladtchikov (SUI) Santa Cruz – SS/HP
Janne Korpi (FIN) Kissmark – SS/HP
Kevin Pearce (USA) Burton – SS/HP
Markku Koski (FIN) Stepchild – SS/HP
Markus Keller (SUI) Nitro – SS/HP
Peetu Piroinen (FIN) Burton – SS/HP
Risto Mattila (FIN) Flow – SS/HP
Shaun White (USA) Burton – SS/HP
Stephan Maurer (SUI) Burton – SS/HP
Chas Guldemond (USA) DC – SS
Chris Sorman (SWE) Burton – SS
Hampus Mosseson (SWE) Quiksilver – SS
Heikka Sorsa (FIN) Burton – SS
Marko Grilc (SLO) Burton – SS
Mikkel Bang (NOR) Burton – SS
Sami Saarenpaa (FIN) Burton – SS
Andy Finch (USA) Rip Curl – HP
Christian Haller (SUI) Burton – HP
Christophe Schmidt (GER) Salomon – HP
Crispin Lipscomb (CAN) Elan – HP
Gian Simmen (SUI) – Santa Cruz – HP
Keir Dillon (USA) Burton – HP
Luke Wynen (USA) Atomic – HP
Manuel Pietropoli (ITA) Burton – HP
Markus Malin (FIN) Salomon – HP
Mitchell Brown (NZE) Bataleon – HP
Nicolas Mueller (SUI) Burton – HP
Roger Kleivdal (NOR) K2 – HP
Sergio Berger (SUI) Quiksilver – HP
Xaver Hoffmann (GER) Nitro – HP

Burton European Open 08 Invited Riders Women
(SS – Slopestyle, HP – Halfpipe)

Cheryl Maas (NED) Nitro – SS/HP
Jamie Anderson (USA) Salomon – SS/HP
Kjersti Buaas (NOR) Rossignol – SS/HP
Sina Candrian (SUI) Burton – SS/HP
Torah Bright (AUS) Roxy – SS/HP
Alexis Waite (USA) Roxy – SS
Claudia Fliri (AUT) Volkl – SS
Jenny Jones (GBR) Salomon – SS
Leanne Pelosi (CAN) K2 – SS
Silvia Mittermueller (GER) Rome – SS
Andrea Schuler (SUI) Flow – HP
Anne Sophie Pellissier (FRA) Salomon – HP
Elena Hight (USA) Burton – HP
Hannah Teter (USA) Buton – HP
Kelly Clark (USA) Burton – HP
Lisa Wiik (NOR) Nitro – HP
Manuela Pesko (SUI) FTwo – HP
Meri Peltonen (FIN) Protest – HP
Sarah Conrad (CAN) Ride – HP

Author: mucca