Countdown to Billabong Air&Style Showdown

We received some exciting news from the 6Star Air & Style organizers and the news are good indeed. This years line up is jam packed with top riders. This event will be once again rock Innsbruck, so get ready for it!

The change from quarterpipe to Big Air in the Bergisel Stadion made the elite of the snowboard scene curious. Getting a position in the starting field was in great demand but now the 16 pros are confirmed and they will be on parade on 05.12.2009 in Innsbruck. So don’t miss out when the top-class fights for the Ring of Glory.

Good chances to make the Ring of Glory his own has the Swatch TTR World Tour Champion 2009 and Winner of the second place of the Billabong Air & Style 09 Peetu Piiroinen (FIN). Again taking part in Innsbruck is his Finnish colleague Antti Autti who reached as well the finale at the last Billabong Air & Style and made 4th place. Torstein Horgmo from Norway had already good opportunities to win the Air & Style but it was always a near miss. Also taking part of the Scandinavian group: Mikkel Bang (NOR), Risto Mattila (FIN), Andreas Wiig (NOR) and Eero Ettala (FIN). ?For Austria: Werner Stock and Gigi Rüf. Werner proofed already in Munich that he can compete with the best. Gigi is without a doubt one of the riders with the best style in the international circus and a big name in the USA for quite a time.

Germany and Switzerland are represented with one athlete for each: Elias Elhardt (GER) and Iouri Podladtchikov (SUI) are on top form this season already and they will make sure to reach a position among the best of the best. ?The Air & Style Champion of 2006 Travis Rice (USA) will return and will celebrate his premiere at the Bergisel. No other rider had such a great influence on snowboarding in the last years like Travis. His movie “That’s it That’s all” inspired people around the world. Chas Guldemond (USA) will also start, he could ensure second place at the end of the Swatch TTR World Tour. His overseas competitors are Seb Toutant (CAN), Pat Moore (USA) and Tim Humphreys (USA). So all 16 positions are assigned and the fans can look forward for snowboarding at its best.

The Red Bull Endsection: ??The Red Bull Endsection consits of several elements where the Riders can prove their skills after the jump. It includes the following obstacles:
?• Quarter, 5m wide ?
• Treeride, 5m high
?• Jib, 1m high
?• Transfer-Sliede, 5m wide
?• Bank, 5m wide
?• Drop, 2.5m high

Official After Show Party in the location Hafen/Innsbruck
?An event like the Billabong Air & Style deserves to end duly and this time the place to be is Hafen (translated: Habour): on three floors you can party and dance. ?The crossover legends Clawfinger will remember on the early days of Air & Style – they were one of the first bands in the Bergisel Stadium in 1995. The Swedes will get supported by Lumen from Russia. The tickets cost 15 Euros (plus presale fees).

All information and presale offices on

Billabong Air & Style 09/II, 05.12.2009
1. Peetu Piiroinen FIN Burton
2. Antti Autti FIN Billabong
3. Risto Mattila FIN Flow
4. Werner Stock AUT Salomon
5. Seb Toutant CAN O’Neil
6. Chas Guldemond USA DC
7. Gigi Ru¨f AUT Volcom
8. Travis Rice USA Quicksilver
9. Torstein Horgmo NOR DC
10. Tim Humphreys USA Flow
11. Elias Elhardt GER Rip Curl
12. Mikkel Bang NOR Burton
13. Pat Moore USA Red Bull
14. Andreas Wiig NOR Nitro
15. Iouri Podladtchikov SUI Volcom
16. Eero Ettala FIN Nitro

Author: mucca