Mathieu Crepel Invitational

Bareges, France – February 4th 2008: For the first time ever, French snowboarder Mathieu Crepel has invited some of the best freestyle riders to compete in the first MC Invitational THREE(3)STAR event from February 7th to 9th 2008 in Bareges, France. The Bareges resort that is home to a famous ski-jump has been fully renovated to host the Slopestyle event. With 550 TTR Ranking points for the winner, a 10 000 Euro Prize and a very unique spin on the traditional competition format, the event guarantees to be huge.

Mathieu Crepel has designed the course himself including a great variety of different terrain features, and the transformation of an old ski-jump originally, built back in 1936, into a slick Big Air jump. Riders will speed down the 50 m ramp and fly at least 40 m. The contest format itself puts an emphasis on originality and style. The 20 competitors will each nominate their favourite trick, with five tricks drawn at random to determine a set trick list. Every rider will have a chance to perform their own rendition of each trick. The Judges, riders and spectators will then get to see how style can differ greatly between riders throwing down the same trick.

Joining Crepel in Bareges is Olympic Halfpipe bronze medalist Markku Koski from Finland. In addition, Hampus Mossesson from Sweden who won the 2007 Red Bull Nanshan Open in China and the X-box Big Day Out in 2006 will also be joining the crew in France along with Arthur Longo (FRA) from Les Deux Alpes Resort who was recently voted “Star of the Year” at the 2007 Etoiles du Sport event in La Plagne.

The Swatch TTR THREE(3)STAR MC Invitational is set to be a legendary competition taking freestyle Slopestyle events in a brand new direction. Stay tuned to for updated Tour news from around the world, including events such as the FOUR(4)STAR Crans- Montana Champs Open in Switzerland, the FOUR(4)STAR Quiksilver Natural Selection in Jackson Hole USA, and the FIVE(5)STAR Honda Session at Vail, USA. Also check out the blog for additional updates and the TTR Video player for fresh action from this past weekend’s FIVE(5)STAR Billabong Air & Style.

MC Invitational Riders List:

1. Freddy Austbo
2. Arthur Longo
3. Sylvain Bourbousson
4. Morgan Le Faucheur
5. Gary Zebrowski
6. Martin Cernik
7. Thomas Harstaad
8. Tyler Chorlton
9. Gerome Mathieu
10. Dimitri Biau
11. Emeric Front
12. Hampus Mosesson
13. Jakob wilhelmson
14. Mathieu Crepel
15. Markku Koski
16. Håkon Tonnesen

Author: mucca