Mons Roisland Takes First At the 13th Red Bull Nanshan Open

Mons Roisland took first place at the 13th Red Bull Nanshan Open today as the event was graced with great weather, great vibes and great riding! With the field of 16 narrowed down to six following the morning’s finals, it was the last run of the competition that saw Mons top the podium taking home a cool USD20,000.


Mons was excited not just to win, but on the whole competition experience, saying “It was so much fun just putting it down on the last run – this competition is insane, it’s just like a bunch of friends hanging out, we experienced so much Chinese culture by going to the Great Wall, Silk Market and a water park, it’s the coolest trip ever!” The Norwegian’s final victory lap run consisted of a Switch BS1260 melon, FS720 nose/tail double, FS180 on switch BS360 out on the up-flat, and a switch blunt 270 out on the down rail.

Eric Beauchemin and Rowan Coultas rounded out the remaining podium spots with second and third place. Eric showed great flow throughout the park, while Rowan was pumped on his third place, starting his run off with a perfect cab900 double cork – “I got 8th last year, and then to get third this year with a way better run, I am so stoked to be on the podium!”

He Wei was the highest ranked Chinese rider in 12th, earning the respect of both the crowd and local fans with a solid run throughout the park.

With the snowboard side of the trip over, the riders now get to enjoy one last Chinese-style after party at Tube Station Pizza before venturing off to their next adventure. Zaijian and Ganbei!

Final results of the 13th Red Bull Nanshan Open:
1. Mons Roisland (NOR)
2. Eric Beauchemin (USA)
3. Rowan Coultas (GBR)
4. Tim Humphreys (USA)
5. Ian Thorley (USA)
6. Michael Schaerer (SUI)
7. Kaito Hamada (JPN)
8. Brandon Davis (USA)
9. Sam Hulbert (USA)
10. Sean Ryan (USA)
11. Marcus Kleveland (NOR)
12. He Wei (CHN)
13. Asher Humphreys (USA)
14. Tuomas Pohjonen (FIN)
15. Gjermund Braaten (NOR)
16. Petr Horak (CSZ)
17. Matts Kulisek (CAN)
18. Jordan Philips (CAN)
19. Jeremy Thompson (USA)
20. Aleksi Partanen (FIN)
21. Aljosa Krivec (SLO)
22. Andrew Seed (UKR)
23. Jia Hao (CHN)
24. Nate Jones (USA)
25. Spencer Whiting (USA)
26. Seungyun Nam (KOR)
27. Andrew Wang (CHN)
28. Junkyu Choi (KOR)
29. Jia Xin (CHN)

For more information on the World Snowboard Tour and the new Pro Series visit

Author: Elisa