French dominate at the 4Star Nescafe Champs

Despite difficult weather condition at the 4Star Nescafé Champs 2010 in Leysin, French snowboarder Johann Baisamy stepped up his game and took the win together with 500 Swatch TTR points. Patrick Burgener finishes in second place, only a point away from the top spot on the podium and now sits in World No. 40 on the TTR World Snowboard Tour. The second Frenchman on the podium was Maxence Tevelle in 3rd place.

Baisamy Shines Despite Difficult Weather Conditions
Due to difficult weather conditions, the decision was made to run one super final instead of semi finals and finals which then saw 18 athletes, 10 qualified and 8 invited riders, competing for the Nescafe Champs title. After the first run, the young Swiss prodigy, Patrick Burgener, occupied the top spot, but was soon to be unseated by the audacious riding of Johann Baisamy, who would go on to win the 2010 edition in his first appearance at the event.

“It’s the first time that I’ve competed in this contest. When I saw that I was 2nd after the first run, I really let loose in my 2nd run. I had nothing to lose!”, said an ecstatic Johann Baisamy. Patrick Burgener, who had slightly injured one of his knees during training the day before, didn’t want to take too many risks, which ended up costing him the top spot. Maxence Tevelle, another French rider, secured the last place on the podium, finishing 3rd.

Hailing from Bern, another rising star of Swiss snowboarding, Jan Scherrer, finished 4th. Only 15 years old, he was awarded the “Dani Lötscher Award” that recognizes the accomplishments of the best young rider in the competition.

Piiroinen Will Be Crowned World Champion next at the US Open
Up next on the Swatch TTR World Snowboard Tour is the men’s final Tour crowning event, the Burton US Open in Stratton/ Vermont. It is there where Peetu Piiroinen will be crowned Swatch TTR World Snowboard Champion after he took an unassailable lead in the world ranking list with his win at the 6Star Oakley Arctic Challenge. For more information and video check outs of the world’s top riders, visit

Final results NESCAFÉ CHAMPS Leysin 2010 :
1. Johann Baisamy (FRA),

2. Patrick Burgener (SUI),

3. Maxence Tevelle (FRA),

4. Jan Scherrer (SUI),

5. Sergio Berger (SUI),

6. David Djité (SUI),

7. Anthony Holland (AUS),

8. Rafael Imhof (SUI),

9. Dan Wakeham (GBR),

10. Matthias Meyer (SUI),

11. Levi Luggen (SUI),

12. Jonas Zbinden (SUI),

13. Thomas Ruegg (SUI),

14. Daniel Premand (SUI),

15. Darius Heristchian (SUI),

16. Petja Piiroinen (FIN),

17. Aurel Anthamatten (SUI),

18. Thomas Delfino (FRA)

Register to our newsletter on

Author: silvia