GSA Series Wildcards for the World Snowboard Tour Series

The Global Snowboarder Alliance (GSA) has announced the Series Wildcards for the World Snowboard Tour Pro Series for both men and women in Slopestyle and Halfpipe, chosen by a pre-selected Series Wildcard Selection Committee. The Series Wildcards enable riders who were not yet qualified for the World Snowboard Tour Pro Series, through the respective World Snowboarding Points List (WSPL) to compete at the Elite level Pro Series events for the 2014/2015 season.


Chas Guldemond and the GSA: “We would like to take a moment and thank everyone for their time and energy to this process. With a special thanks to the riders who took the time to apply, in showing support for our Series Wildcard initiative and the 2015 WST Pro Series. This Pro Series Tour that has been established in conjunction with TTR/WST and it’s the first of its kind. I am proud as a rider and a participant that we have been able to get this far for the first year. We all have very high hopes that this year will set the groundwork for many years of healthy competitive snowboarding to come.”

Three series wildcards per discipline, per gender are awarded to the following riders:

Slopestyle Men          Halfpipe Men            Slopestyle Women     Halfpipe Women

Roope Tonteri                    Nate Johnstone                Anna Gasser                          Torah Bright
Eric Beauchemin               Janne Korpi                        Spencer O’Brien                  Hikaru Oe
Ryan Stassel                        Chase Josey                        Kjersti Buaas                        Holly Crawford

Congratuations to all Series Wildcard riders, from us at World Snowboard Tour, we wish you all the best for your season and we look forward to seeing you at Pro Series!

About the selection committee
The Series Wildcard Selection Committee is an impartial panel consisting of five members, commissioned by appointed members of the current GSA Board of Representatives and approved by the World Snowboard Tour:

Sandy McDonald – TTR Judge Director & Selection Committee Chairman
Susie Floros – Editor in Chief of Snowboarder Mag
Tom Kingsnorth – Founder of Pyramid Mag
Henry Jackson – Event Commentator
“Ishi“ Shigeru Ishihara – WSF Board Member, nominated by Snowboard Japan

About the Global Snowboarders Alliance
The Global Snowboarders Alliance (GSA) is the rider established organisation put in place by freestyle snowboarding’s elite athletes who are currently competing on the global freestyle snowboarding event tours. Voted in by top 100 on the Worlds Snowboarding Points List, the GSA Board of Representatives consists of current top 10 Riders across the Slopestyle, Big Air & Halfpipe formats.

The GSA Board of Representatives are:
Men’s Slopestyle – Chas Guldemond USA, Ståle Sandbech NOR, Torstein Horgmo NOR
Women’s Slopestyle –  Kjersti Buaas NOR,  Spencer O’Brien CAN, Christy Prior NZ
Men’s Pipe – Benji Farrow USA, Taylor Gold USA, Louie Vito USA
Women’s Pipe –  Kelly Clark USA,  Arielle Gold USA

For more information on the Global Snowboarders Alliance (GSA) visit

For more information on the World Snowboard Tour and the new Pro Series visit

Media Contact World Snowboard Tour
Meike Vetter
Author: Elisa